World Cup 2014: Hodgson confirms 23-man England squad

Originally featured on the TalkingTikiTaka – WC2014 Blog

England manager Roy Hodgson yesterday announced publicly and officially the 23 players that have made the final cut for the England squad for this years World Cup competition. For weeks and months, the press and pundits around the UK have speculated continuously in regard to who should and shouldn’t be on the plane to Brazil but yesterday the England manager himself put to bed any rumours and speculation by confirming the 23 players he is taking on the plane to Brazil. Only six players out of the 23 have had previous World Cup experience before as Hodgson names an England squad with an average of 26 years old, the lowest in 14 years. Notable absentees include Chelsea left back Ashley Cole as 18 year old Luke Shaw is the preferred choice at left back, whilst promising young Ross Barkley of Everton is preferred to Manchester United’s central midfielder Michael Carrick. Other absentees include the likes of Tom Cleverley, Jermain Defoe and John Ruddy who many had tipped to make the final 23 but find themselves only on standby in the event of an injury to any of the Hodgson’s 23 man selection. England are still to play three friendlies against Peru, Ecuador and Honduras ahead of the start of the tournament, which kicks off fully for England on Saturday 14th June in their opening Group D match against Italy.

The England 23 man squad in full:

Goalkeepers: Fraser Forster (Celtic), Ben Foster (West Bromwich Albion), Joe Hart (Manchester City).

Defenders: Leighton Baines (Everton), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Phil Jagielka (Everton), Glen Johnson (Liverpool), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Luke Shaw (Southampton), Chris Smalling (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Ross Barkley (Everton), Steven Gerrard (Liverpool), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Adam Lallana (Southampton), Frank Lampard (Chelsea), James Milner (Manchester City), Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain (Arsenal), Raheem Sterling (Liverpool), Jack Wilshere (Arsenal).

Forwards: Rickie Lambert (Southampton), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United), Daniel Sturridge (Liverpool), Danny Welbeck (Manchester United).

Standby: John Ruddy (Norwich City), Jon Flanagan (Liverpool), John Stones (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Tom Cleverley (Manchester United), Andy Carroll (West Ham United), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s